Spoken Word + Blackout

Letter – Iris (slowed + reverb)

Spoken Word:

Don’t Cry.

You can’t buy happiness. You can make it, share it, or even find it. And yet you can’t buy it. I wonder why it’s so easy to steal then.

If you can make your own happiness, then why would you steal mine? If you steal it, you won’t gain it. And yet you snatch it from me anyways. You snatch this invisible comfort from me, crumple it up, mock it. 

You break it. 

Every single time, you break it. You hold it up to my eyes and force me to watch you shatter it. The little pieces, unfixable, unrecognizable. I wonder if you laugh behind that anger.

Maybe you make your own happiness when you see others lose theirs. Does it inspire you? Does it satisfy your ache of emptiness, knowing that you can make others empty too? Or, do you still believe you can have it for yourself? Do you believe that you can trade joy for pain, even though you already know you can’t replace the hole you made with another? Why don’t you learn, even after experimenting thousands of times? How much evidence do you need? 

You steal it from me. You might say that I can easily remake it, but why would I keep remaking something you’re going to break? It doesn’t make sense. You only realize how deep your void is when you remember how full it used to be. You dig deeper every time, and I cry everytime, and yet you keep testing to make sure your answer is accurate because you don’t like the answer. Why do you hate me? Or why do you hate seeing my happiness? Do I threaten you? 

Am I your reminder of what you want (what you need), what you aim for (what you hurt for), what you have dedicated yourself to (what you intentionally empty others for)? Is it funny? In your world, is taking that same as giving, is anger the same as joy, is breaking the same as making? Why do you do it again and again?

Maybe it’s reassurance. That you’re still in control. That you know what you’re doing. That you hold the power. Are you actually powerful if you have to steal to feel complete? Do you need to steal in order to feel adequate enough that you will trade in the remainder of your joy for a taste? You tell me that my tears are useless. That they make me useless. Why do you keep bringing them back? To tell me that same line again? To push the dagger in just a little bit deeper each time? 

How often do you lie to me?

It’s delicate yet whole, it’s elegant yet casual, it’s comforting yet vulnerable. Open the flood gates. Let it rain again. Let it be destroyed. This little light of mine. Let me hide it from you. Why would you take away what lets me be me? Maybe you don’t like me. Maybe you don’t like you. But that’s a secret, don’t tell anyone. Don’t let the truth be the truth, because then the roles would be reversed. Once a thief, always a thief. Funny how that works out.

I can’t say anything. I can’t steal it back. I can’t fix it. Are you testing my resilience? Is this your duty, your responsibility? Say it again. Tell me it’s for my own good. Poison is still poison, whether it’s in apple juice or alcohol. It still kills. I still die. And yet, what if next time, I don’t? What if I remain unaffected, and watch you watch me, and let your certainty shatter just like my happiness? Or, what if I die this time, and never come back? You keep testing the theory again and again, and yet, even though you don’t actually like the result, it’s better than something different happening. That’s why you don’t actually break me. Just my happiness. Just the structure of my soul. That’s ok. 

It hurts. Why are my bedsheets drenched in absence? Why do I stay away from you? Why can’t I just be happy? The easiest questions to answer, yet I don’t give you the right responses. I don’t give anyone the right responses. I’m not happy. I’m not me. I’m not okay. But don’t tell anyone, that’s my secret. After all, the weak depend on lies. Maybe my tears do make me useless.

I can’t buy happiness. I can make it, share it, or even find it. And yet I can’t buy it. I wonder why the most valuable resource in our lives is one that can form or vanish in seconds, yet is the most plentiful and scarce at the same time.

I wonder if I’m turning into you.

Author Comments:

I don’t like this spoken word. In fact, I probably hate it.

I wrote this all in one sitting yesterday night. Life hit hard, and I lost it. I didn’t have any control over anything. Everything just kinda plummeted, and it dragged me down with it. If I’m honest, it was a reality check. A reminder of the little box of rage I carry with me. I genuinely hope no one reading this ever understands what I’m feeling right now.

I didn’t know what to do. There was nothing to do. I was not me. Just raw, ugly emotion. So I put that monster on this page and walked away. I drew hatred from my hidden reserve and strung this together. I hate it, because it is my hate. I don’t want to be this person.

I don’t know if writing made me feel better, but I do know that it made me believe my thoughts. That said, they are not nice thoughts. They are ugly and abusive and of bad intent. I’m embarrassed to say they are mine. I don’t know if I actually want people to read them. I just want to leave it all here and forget. I already don’t want to read the comments. At the same time though, if I don’t post this, I don’t know what I will. So I guess this abomination is here to stay.

In terms of the structure of my poem, at the time, my mind was spitting fire, and so the tone of the writing depicts that. It’s aggressive and choppy and insecure (just like me teehee), and that’s shown through the short questions and the long accusations. I also tend to use the “rule of three” in this piece quite a bit. While others might say that listing three things in a row is the strongest way to support a statement without making it drag on, I just find it’s natural. It builds up the thought in levels, making the final statement feel lasting. Along with that, it just sounds better to me. When I talk, I do the same thing, and it just kind of made its way into this poem without me thinking about it. I used metaphors and similes throughout, such as the poison and the comparisons to happiness, which were really just a way to relay a feeling or highlight something indirectly.

If I’m honest, the use of literary devices didn’t even occur to me when I wrote. It wasn’t my priority. The reason I wrote every single line just comes down to the fact that it felt true. It felt like it needed to be written that way for me to feel like I was the writer. I needed to write in a way that I was comfortable, as I wrote about my discomfort. Everything is written in this way, because I wanted to write in the voice that I was feeling. That’s why there are big gaps to relay pauses, and bolded words to express emphasis. I have no other reason for it. I don’t know how else to explain it.

In the end, I’m not sure what the purpose of this poem was. It’s just here. I guess I was really dedicated to sharing my soul on this blog, huh? Either way, it’s done, so it’s staying. I’m not going to let it bother me.

Blackout Poem:

DON’T CRY.

i find you in The others too.

you made me remember to cry.

do you break the same as i do or feel my tears each time? 

lie to me.

Let me hide from you.

don’t like me.

I can’t lie again.

break me.

tears scar

-Simran Sidhu

Published by

10 Replies to “Spoken Word + Blackout

  1. Dear Simran,

    Thank you for a truly wonderful work of poetry. I could hear your voice as if you were actually performing this and it was a powerful experience for me as a reader.
    I love that this piece was completely out of your control. I think sometimes that words have a way of using us as a tool to find its shape onto the page. These moments are terrifying, because the writer loses all control. However I find that the product of such an experience yields stunningly truthful words. “I wonder if I am turning into you.” Wow. What a brilliant insight. This is the kind of theme I would love to create on stage and emulate in my writing as it has such emotional depth and awareness of life.

    Thank you for this experience. I take this spoken word to my soul.

    Sincerely,

    Dai M

    1. Dear Dai,

      If you ever do use this piece as inspiration, I would really like to see what you create. I never thought of this piece as much more than a basic rant, but the fact that you see it as so much more is amazing to me. And, if I’m honest, your words make me glad I didn’t decide to restart.
      You really are wonderful, Dai. You somehow managed to romanticize something that I wanted to pretend didn’t exist. You saw everything in such a beautiful way, that I wish I could see. I don’t know how you do it, but I’m beyond grateful to have someone with such an admiring mindset. Thank you so much.

      Sincerely, Simran

  2. Dear Simran,
    This poetry piece was exceptional. The music choice with the poem provided that connection with your piece which was beautiful (I love the choice of slowed and reverb). Just reading this tore my heart. I wanna give you the biggest hug because no one should ever go through this, and I am sorry you feel this way love. I could hear your voice rising in frustration as I was reading through it which broke me apart more. The last stanza really hit home for me because often people don’t realize how much power someone’s influence can impact them. It’s more important and crucial where people choose to take that influence in life, whether that means in a negative or positive aspect. I really enjoyed the boldness of some words and sentences to emphasize your poem which was SO SMART. You are just so talented :))

    You did a spectacular job on this!! For feedback, I have nothing. I’m sorry you have to go through this alone, I’M HERE IF YOU EVER NEED TO TALK<33 !! You are such an excellent writer!! I am really proud of how far you have come and I am looking forward to reading more of your beautiful writing. LUV YOU SM!! :))

    Love,

    Amal

    1. Dear Amal,

      Thank you for reading this. I know I said I didn’t want people to read this, but you make regret saying that. I forget that there are people like you in my life that care for me, and I’m so sorry about that. I was worried people would judge or pity me, but you understood the main pain of this piece. I said I didn’t want people to understand, but that was what I needed. So thank you, for making me feel like my feelings aren’t stupid or dramatized. I don’t know what I would do without you. I luv you too:)

      With love, Sim

  3. Dear Simran,
    OKAY first of all omg ur blog is so aesthetic?? So cute it really suits your personality I think.

    Anyways, I really liked your poem. There was clearly a lot of though put into it and honestly, this class amazes me because you guys are clearly so passionate about writing, and I really respect and admire that. The music went really nicely with the overall tone and flow of the piece, so I am glad that music was required for this assignment! Some of your statements were honestly super poetic and meaningful which I loved, so thank you for this gift^^

    I don’t really have any criticisms, but just wanna say keep up the good work!

    Debbs

    1. Dear Debbie,

      I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed not only my post, but my blog as a whole. If I’m honest, I had no intention of putting in this much effort or caring about my work in this class. After all, I was forced into this 15 level class because they didn’t wanna give me a spare *sigh*. Somehow, though, I’ve become very attached to this blog. I’m not sure why, but I feel like it has become more of a “me space” than an assignment, and I think part of the reason is because I really just write what I want. With that said, it’s very fulfilling to hear that you found so much in a piece of writing that was put together on instinct. Thank you so much for reading my post!

      Simran

  4. Dear Simran,

    This was a very heartfelt piece that moved me in every way! The music really emphasized the point you were trying to create; furthermore, it tied in really well to your poem. Upon your use of bold words and the amount of questions being asked, I only wanted to indulge further into your writing, and it truly made me think and reflect after fully looking into it. My favorite line in particular is: “The little pieces, unfixable, unrecognizable. I wonder if you laugh behind that anger”. I liked the way that sentence flowed, and how it created a sense of emotion within.

    Again, this was a very beautiful piece! I’m excited to read more of your work in future posts.

    Sincerely,
    Mariam

    1. Dear Mariam,

      I’m glad you liked my music choice. I had a bit of trouble picking one, but eventually fell to this one because it was kind of reflective and sad, but it wasn’t depressing. There was that sense of uneasiness or slight aggravation that made me feel like it fit the piece, and resultantly won me over. Seeing that you were able to pick up on those tones in the piece really brought a sense of calmness to me, as it makes me feel like I’ve done a good job at reflecting the emotions I wished to share. Overall, thank you for your comment, and for reading my post.

      Sincerely, Simran

  5. Dear Simran,
    I know this comment is so late but I was just looking at your blog because it is so peaceful and comforting to me for some reason and I really admire the amount of effort and passion that you put into each blog post. With that said, this piece was really moving and emotional. Something I enjoy about your writing is that your word choices are so eloquent and purposeful that each word invokes a lot of emotions within every reader (at least for me). I honestly don’t have any feedback for you. Thank you so much for allowing yourself to be so vulnerable especially not knowing who was going to end up reading this. Your pieces are really inspiring and I can’t wait to see what you post again in the future.
    Love,
    Bolu

    1. Dear Bolu,
      I believe I tried to respond to this quite a while ago, but unfortunately, it looks like it didn’t send. So, if anything, I’m so sorry that my reply is so late! I’d like to thank you for reading my blog post, and for commenting! I’m really glad to know that you find comfort in my blog, as I do as well, and it’s probably one of the best compliments I’ve received. As for being more vulnerable, it’s never something I’d ever really intended on working on, and personally, I kind of hate the feeling of doing so, but I’ll definitely keep your comment in mind. It will probably be good for me lol. Once again, thank you for reading and I’m happy you liked my piece.:)
      Love, Simran

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *